Steinway model B Piano Room
Add to favourites
George S
George S
per hour

Steinway model B Piano Room

Domicile/espace privéHosted by George S


604 bookings

About this room

People say acoustics are good. This "classic grand" piano is regularly maintained by Steinway. Room is good for chamber music​,​ accompanying strings​,​ woodwinds​,​ etc. (Fees go to Parkinson's reserch)


  • WC
  • Wi-Fi

Room rules

Usual "polite" behaviour. Return borrowed music where you found it... Mask coming and going, toilet access isin basement and requires reentry via main front door (detail below). Not entirel standard, but it seems to work (SFAIK) Covid Precautions: My wife is extremely vulnerable: Therefore all attendees must wash their hands on arrival, regardless of whether or what instrument they are playing. This requires ringing the bell in the entrance porch and coming down to the basement via the outside steps and returning to the front door by the same route to access the piano room (note 2). Once returned to the front door, please go direct into the piano room through the inner hallway; if you need further assistance, please go outside and use the bell. Visitors must either be in-date double (or booster) vaccinated or have had a recent (last 24 hours) negative lateral flow test. Please do not come if you have possible symptoms - even if test is negative (we will arrange a refund if necessary). Possible occasional disruption: Rarely, my wife and her carers are the only people in the house. The carers may (even more rarely) be busy looking after my wife and unable to answer the door for a few minutes. If there is no reply, please ring the bell again after a couple of minutes (and then again). If there is no answer after about five minutes it may mean that something is amiss - please forgive us. (Fortunately this has only happened once so far - and for a different reason that we have corrected) Thank you for your tolerance Notes: 1) My wife and the carers are in the adjacent room, and sound-proofing is imperfect. We can usually manage periods of quiet for people wishing to record - please ask. Unfortunately we can't control the road, so you may need to leave time for re-recording if this is a problem 2) You are welcome to arrive a few minutes early so you have time to wash your hands before going up to the piano room

Your room is in a...

Domicile/espace privé

Is there step-free access?


Is your room able to host high volume amplified music(eg. rock, metal…)?


How many musicians can the room accommodate?

1 - 6



Specify instruments

Quality violin family instruments available at additional cost


Stools/Chairs: 7

Music Stands: 7

Reviews (154)

  • Georges S

    This room is exceptional. The Steinway model B piano is kept in tune with a lovely tone. The owner is pleasant and accommodating. If you’re a pianist, this is the ideal practice facility in the area. I can see the room as being perfect for small chamber ensembles too. The décor is lovely too. Simply second do none, highly recommended!

    Georges SFebruary 2024

  • RY

    As on our previous visit, we very much enjoyed our rehearsal (winds and piano). A wonderful room with evocative decoration, art work, high ceiling and nice acoustic. George was a pleasure to deal with. Thank you!

    Rick YFebruary 2024

  • SW

    My all time favourite venue to rehearse and play. Thank you so very much

    Sarah WJanuary 2024

  • Karen D

    Always a great time!

    Karen DJanuary 2024

  • AM

    Owner was very prompt and accommodating in giving detailed answers to my concerns. Really good value for a small last minute recordings/rehearsals. Highly recommended!

    Andrea MJanuary 2024

  • Karen D

    Always an amazing experience!

    Karen DDecember 2023

  • RY

    A lovely room for chamber music today, with a very nice piano and a friendly helpful host. Thank you!

    Rick YNovember 2023

  • Karen D

    Lovely experience as always

    Karen DNovember 2023

  • SH

    Very disappointed. I have been coming here to practise for a while now but a recent conflict with the owner has left me deeply shocked and unhappy. The way George handled some misunderstandings about a recent booking is very disappointing. Instead of addressing them with a sense of civility and understanding (the issues are about impromptu booking and his response time in confirming the booking), he dealt with them with passive aggression and hostility. He does not listen to reason. His stubbornness is beyond shocking. The piano itself is fine. However, there are some problems I noticed over the past year: 1. Piano with some broken parts Either some notes are out of tune, there are pencils stuck in the piano, or some keys are just broken and unplayable! 2. Do not play loud, dramatic or big concert pieces For professional concert pianists, you are advised not to play loud or "big" pieces. As there is a terminally ill woman living in the next room, your music can't be too dramatic or powerful. Otherwise, it will upset her. You need to keep the volume down and play softly. No big pieces by rachmaninoff, chopin, listz, etc... I would not recommend this place as there are far better piano rooms alternatives in London! If you do decide to use this room, make sure you book well in advance and do not get into conflicts with him!

    Samson HNovember 2023

Your host

George S

Hello, I'm George S.


Response timewithin days
per hour